New Brunswick.—The New Brunswick Electric Power Commission was incorporated under the Electric Power Act, 1920. Generating stations owned by the Commission at Mar. 31, 1960 were as follows:—

Plant	Type	Capacity	Plant	Type	Capacity
		hp.			hp.
Grand Falls	Hydro Hydro Hydro Hydro	9,320 27,000 96,500 3,600	Saint John	Steam Diesel Diesel	. 43,6001 . 1,1401 . 3201

¹ Capacity rating of generators in kw. converted to hp.

All the above generating units with the exception of Grand Manan were interconnected in a province-wide grid system. The statistical information given in Table 14 shows the growth of the Commission's undertakings since 1956.

14.—Growth of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission, Years Ended Mar. 31, 1956-60

Item	1956	1957	1958	1959	1960
High-voltage transmission linemiles	1,071	1,121	1,228	1,272	1,396
Distribution line "	6,937	7,100	7,168	7,286	7,512
Direct customers No.	69,415	76,490	79,550	84,025	100,475
Plant capacities hp.	140,570	166,250	256,720	256,7 20	346,180
Power generated kwh.	493,609,040	606,443,490	653,331,610	754,714,180	1,184,798,350
Capital invested \$	71,140,250	90,152,808	100,390,025	104,511,683	132,844,276
Revenue \$	9,635,272	11,286,117	12,182,120	13,527,290	16,665,153

Power plant construction completed or under way in New Brunswick during 1960 is outlined at p. 579.

Quebec.—The Quebec Streams Commission.—Created by SQ 1910, c. 5, and given additional powers in 1912 (RSQ 1925, c. 46) and SQ 1930, c. 34, the Quebec Streams Commission was authorized to ascertain the water resources of the province, to make recommendations regarding their control, and to construct and operate certain storage dams to regulate the flow of streams. It assisted companies engaged in such work by the systematic collection of data on the flow of the principal rivers and on meteorological conditions, by investigation of numerous water power sites and by the determination of the longitudinal profile of a large number of rivers.

On Apr. 1, 1955, the Quebec Streams Commission was abolished and its powers and attributions transferred to the provincial Hydraulic Resources Department. The rivers controlled by the Commission at the time of transfer, either by means of dams on the rivers or by regulating the outflow of lakes at the headwaters, were: the St. Maurice, the Gatineau, the Lièvre, the St. Francis, the Chicoutimi, the Au Sable, and the Métis. The Commission also operated nine reservoirs on North River, two in the watershed of the Ste. Anne de Beaupré River, and one at the outlet of Lake Morin on Rivière du Loup (lower).